Return to Website

RK Digest

Welcome to the RK Digest Forum, specializing in Sprirtual Topics; 
not necessarily restricted to Sri Sri Ramakrishna, Swami Vivekananda 
and/or the Holy Mother. Please feel free to post your messages about 
other great thinkers; such as Osho Rajneesh, Sri Sri Ravishankar, 
Pir Inayat Khan, Sri Aurobindo, George Gurdjieff and others.

Unfortunately, due to heavy SPAM, we have been obliged to LOCK this forum.
If you wish to post a message, send email to internetaction@yahoo.com and we will post it for you.

RK Digest
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Memories Of Shri Vivekananda

Memories Of Shri Vivekananda
by Professor Satendra Nandan, AUSTRALIA

Professor Satendra Nandan is a former student of Shri Vivekananda High School on the banks of the Nadi river. After his graduation in Delhi, he returned and taught at his alma mater for three years, before joining USP in 1969.

Shri Vivekananda High School was founded in 1949; I studied there in the 1950s. The school was in two corrugated tin-sheds with floors of rough, uneven concrete. There were thin bamboo partitions between the class-rooms. The singing and teaching in one classroom was heard in the other. The school was on the town-bank of the Nadi river : our green and golden days by the river were spent watching boys and girls from the koro across diving into its pristine waters. When the river flooded, the muddy waters flowed into our classrooms, much to our delight; the school was closed for days.

The wooden Nadi Bridge under the swirling waters was a sight to see with uprooted raintrees entangled in it. But we were often helped by young boys from the koro in their boats to cross the flooded river to the other side to attend the school and prepare for the Senior Cambridge examination.