Ethiopian Review Readers Forum

Ethiopian Review Readers Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Dr. Berhanu Nega says CUD won by 60-65%

G8 urged to censure Ethiopian regime
Irish Times; Jul 01, 2005

G8: Deaglan de Breadun , Foreign Affairs Correspondent, talks to Ethiopian opposition activist Dr Berhanu Nega in Dublin Democratic change

World leaders assembled at the G8 summit in Scotland next week should send a clear message to Ethiopia's prime minister Meles Zenawi that the conduct of his regime is not acceptable to the international community, a senior member of the Ethiopian opposition told The Irish times in Dublin this week.

"It is up to the international community to send a very, very clear message that Meles and his government cannot circumvent the democratic process," said Dr Berhanu Nega (47), campaign manager for the Coalition for Unity and Democracy (CUD), Ethiopia's main opposition grouping.

An economist by profession, Nega says he would prefer if the world leaders did not even wait for the G8, but spoke out with "a unified voice" beforehand. "Time is of the essence." Zenawi is a member of British prime minister Tony Blair's Commission for Africa, which is meant to be promoting human rights and better governance.

Likewise Nega says Ireland, which gives substantial aid to Ethiopia (the latest figure available is ?28 million in 2003), should reconsider its relationship with the Zenawi government. "We want Ireland and the rest of the donor community to be committed to Ethiopian democracy, not to any particular regime." He does not want any cuts in food relief, but "the message has to be clear".