This is a Buyers-Only Forum. NO VENDORS are permitted to post on this Forum

Forum Archive
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: pyxis stock

Oh, can I relate! It is especially bad on the week-ends or days I'm off--I come back to so much over stock, it's ridiculous.

And what is really crazy is that I was a tech for 10 years before I started buying--and I "got it" even then!!! The concept just isn't that hard. Buy less more often. That's the whole thing in 4 words

I think part of the problem is that there is no ownership of this job for anyone else in the dept. All they want to see is drugs on the shelves, even if there are 3-4 times that much sitting in a Pyxis machine outdating!! There are no consequences for them.

The techs do monthly floor checks here of every machine and are supposed to run a "meds without removals" report each time and remove or reduce anything that has low usage. Doesn't happen.

The other thing is that Cardinal and I think ABC have a column called AMU (average monthly use) that I moved right next to the drug description, so anyone can see that if our AMU is 1, we don't need 6 on the shelf.

Things may not change, but we can vent to each other and totally understand the problem.

Name of Facility: PORTER

City, State: acute care

Years as a Buyer: 9+

Re: pyxis stock

I took me a long time to get our hospital to unmirror
the machines. We use to have 2 machines on each floor
and if 1 patient was on a med both machines had to have that med in both. That has helped with the inventory. Also I will run a list of the expensive
drugs like zyvox etc. (I have a list of about 20)
the techs have to go up and pull this drugs out if
the patient is discharged or no longer on them. We
also have a 2 bin system. I will order and if it is
something we do not use to often or very spending I will have a tech pull from pyxis. This seems to help
alittle. The techs don't like it, but I'm doing my job
not making friends.