This is a Buyers-Only Forum. NO VENDORS are permitted to post on this Forum

Forum Archive
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
new to forum

Hello everyone,
While not new to PPO, this is my first time on the forum. Since I've been catching up on your postings, some of my comments might not be relevant, but I'll share anyway:
ORDERING--I used to walk the shelves everyday, but it interfered with the Pyxis techs, so now I do Mondays and Thursdays and rely on the want list and staff to tell me what needs to be ordered. This is kind of a crap shoot, since some are very diligent about writing down or telling me and others seem to think I can read their mind!! On weekends or when I'm not here, techs or pharmacists place the order. I do check in and sticker the order Mon-Fri, but techs put it away. And, no, it isn't the way I would do it, but I try to straighten when I am in the shelves.
INVENTORY--We have done our own inventory for as long as I have worked in the pharmacy (18 years). In the old days, it was all handwritten, but now we use Telxons and download to Amerisource's inventory function. This works pretty well. We check quantities after each download. Some compounding items and other misc. are still written by hand, but that is minimal.
Thanks for letting me share.
Ruth

Name of Facility: PORTER 320beds

City, State: acute care

Years as a Buyer: 7.5

Re: new to forum

Welcome to the gang!

I'm glad you were finally able to get in and share your perspectives. I just have to comment on your opinion on ordering. After seven years, you should be able to rely on your "Spider Senses", to figure out ordering patterns, employee habits, and how to avoid the weekly "Friday Afternoon Crisis". I'm sure you keep you ear to the pharmacists to find out what the docs are ordering this week, or which sales rep came through the hospital.